In creative exile

Reg Silva
Wedgienet
Published in
2 min readMay 27, 2015

For personal reasons, I’ve been on leave from all my work for a month. Without client work to fill up my days, I’ve been using the time to organize my closet and studio, to read books, and to do things I never had the time for, like my personal art. I’ve been so busy on work projects and hitting deadlines (sometimes working on three at a time) that I’ve neglected simply playing around and doing art for art’s sake, like I used to do.

So in the month I’ve been off work, I’ve done the following:

Made shrink plastic art:

shrinkplastic
shrinkplastic2

Worked on my travel journal:

journal1
journal2
journal3

Painted:

painting

Carved rubber stamps:

stamps

Written letters to friends (#oldschool):

letterwriting

Doodled:

drawing

Worked on my #365DoodledNotestoSelf project on Instagram:

doodlednotestoself

I’ve been enjoying my leave doing random art stuff. And look, I even set aside time to write in this neglected blog. I hope to make writing in this blog more of a habit.

--

--

Reg Silva
Wedgienet

Illustrator. I like pizza and cupcakes. John 15:1-17