Painting with gouache

Reg Silva
Wedgienet
Published in
2 min readJun 25, 2015

I started painting with gouache recently. I’ve been thinking ahead (way ahead) and figured I can’t (and don’t want to) do digital art forever, especially in my old age (LOL). I’ve been an avid computer user since I was around 14, when I first started playing with Photoshop (starting with Photoshop version 4.5). I’m not at all ashamed to say I am quite the champion when it comes to staying in front of the computer for hours on end. It’s probably why my eyesight is so bad.

Digital gets tiring though, and all those hours spent in front of the computer takes its toll on me. Sometimes I just want to get away from a screen and do my art by hand, with traditional media.

Last month I took a bit of time off from my client work and experimented and played with various traditional media I can make a transition to in the future. I recently busted out a set of gouache paints I bought a year ago; it’s only now that I found the time to play with them. Right now I’m really liking gouache — it’s very forgiving, easy to work with, and easy to clean up. Here are some quick things I painted recently.

Gouache kitty

Gouache on brown paper

Ice Cream Truck
Ice Cream Bear
Flower bear

A 15-minute doodled painting on the left and 1-hour output on the right.

I’m still starting but hopefully this will be the beginning of a working relationship with gouache.

--

--

Reg Silva
Wedgienet

Illustrator. I like pizza and cupcakes. John 15:1-17