The Affordable Healthcare Act… has anyone not been surprised by this?

Robert Bishop
weDigress
Published in
2 min readDec 4, 2017
image unattributed

I’m a serial technology entrepreneur with a track record of successful startups. My current venture has offered the same group health insurance plan for 5+ years. Before the “Affordable Healthcare Act,” the monthly premium for my family’s health insurance was around $800. Now it’s more than $1,600 and, wait for it…, I get the added privilege of being taxed personally on the premium that the company pays on my behalf (almost $20k annual). There’s been no change in a family member’s health. We’re the same as we always have been.

Call me crazy but if our country wants us to maintain health insurance, they’re going about it the wrong way. Doubling my premiums and then taxing me on the higher cost is going to drive me under.

I’m not going to point the finger at anyone because in order to do that I would have to:

  1. understand much more than I do right now re: our country’s healthcare system, and
  2. decide which finger to point.

I simply don’t have the time or emotional energy required to do this and grow a company at the same time. Perhaps, if I go out of business due to these higher premiums and taxes, I’ll loose my health insurance and finally have the time to look at it more closely.

image courtesy Kelly Samson/Gallery Photography

“It’s sad that governments are chiefed by the double tongues.” — The Outlaw Josie Wales (1975)

About the Author

Robert is 58 years-old, married, father of 8 children (4 girls, 4 boys), and lives in North Salt Lake, UT. He describes himself as an technology entrepreneur, family man, traveler, movie lover, and cyclist.

--

--

Robert Bishop
weDigress

Robert characterizes himself as a serial entrepreneur, family man, traveler, movie lover, and amateur cyclist.