Introducing an Outing for nature lovers. Flowers, vegetables, secluded, free garden.

A Summer surprise

Hunting brings unexpected rewards

Snappy One
Weeds & Wildflowers

--

Stoned in the Garden All photos are by the Author

The multi-hued carpet spread before me. Not made with thread and binding, but with living, colorful plants and shrubs. So much diversity and beauty in such a small area.

I saw much larger botanicals that weren’t as attractive and rich as these. If the variegated plots were not sufficient to entice me in, their ebullient aromas seduced my senses.

View from Below

The place was not easy to find. No signs directed me to the entrance. Billboards failed to advertise the coming turn or to tell of the attractions ahead. It was very indescript. My GPS directed me, but I was reluctant to believe it when I saw the location.

Even when I parked, there was little to show me why the internet listed this place among 10 great gardens in South Jersey, which is how I discovered it. I drove only 40 minutes from home but never heard of it.

However, once I crossed the lane and walked a short way, unusual things came into view. There was a large area where dead wood piled like stacks of railroad ties. At first, I thought they were just to be burned but soon learned such was not the plan.

A bin about five feet tall held empty pizza boxes. The accompanying sign invited people to turn them in so that they could be recycled into mulch and nourish the plants.

I arrived for a photo safari, or so I hoped, but some pleasant interruptions diverted me.

A tall, middle-aged man approached and after introductions, offered a free tour. I learned he was a Master Gardener with one of the many privately owned plots in this, the Gibbsboro Community Garden.

As we passed the piles of dead wood he explained how they were making a natural fence with it. He pointed to where they worked to lengthen it.

He described the growing things with more details than I really wanted because my fingers were itching to get snapping. His prideful enthusiasm made me change focus. Realizing a return visit would provide more photo ops, I gave him the attention he deserved.

Flowers of Summer

As we strolled the narrow path, jam-packed with blooms in palettes of coordinated colors, textures, and heights, so many honey bees searched for every drop of nectar. A beekeeper hobbyist kept some hives nearby.

Birds swooped and dived, alighting on a birdbath for a cooling dip. Others took a perch, peering at us with curiosity. A few of the numerous birdhouses provided a safe haven for the feathered families inside.

Rocky bedding for the spa

If we didn’t see them, we could hear their joyous cacophony. Numerous hummingbirds zigzagged speedily to sip their way in and out of the living lunch counters.

Butterflies evasively snuck along, challenging us to play their game of hide and seek.

All Tucked In

My guide moved a large gate where we entered an area that was very different from the ornamental, decorative beds we left behind. Several raised plots, each about 20 by 50 feet lay in neat rows. These belonged to the individuals raising their own produce.

Tomato 🍅 Bounty

The land was donated at no cost to the gardener. For some, this may have been the only land they ever owned. Tomatoes in all shapes and varieties thrived. One plot added peppers and even pumpkins. Some were better cared for than others. Some looked to be experimental.

Thought they were Peppers

Tools and hoses stood at the ready. Lots of areas for composting were available, whether one wanted to contribute or look for natural fertilizer.

There was no admission fee, not even requests for donations. One of the founders happened to be working that day. She had a flair for decor and design, treating the area like an interior decorator may have outfitted a bedroom. Her humor could not be missed with the whimsical arrangements she created.

Bathroom fixtures were all donated, as was nearly every accessory in use.

Overflowing Tub

The bathtub was hard to miss, overflowing with greenery, but the toilet was harder to find. One had to be more discreet about that one. It became a game. The more I looked the more surprises I found.

Dino in the Sink

I am eager to return, but I want to see the differences brought on by the change of seasons. So I will wait a few weeks while summer says goodbye and makes way for autumn.

Shadow Play

I smile when I think of this unexpected delight.

For any of you living in the Southern New Jersey vicinity, it is worth the adventure to visit. It is not more than an hour from Philadelphia, Wilmington, DE. or Atlantic City.

When I discover a good thing, I like to tell others! I hope you will do the same.

If you go, please post your photos and jottings.

--

--

Snappy One
Weeds & Wildflowers

Caregiver, photographer, Christian, humorist. Married grandma. Enjoy travel, especially cruises.