2012. Tessa in an ugly Christmas sweater. Photo by Bruce M.Walker

Christmas Shopping Blues

My Take on the Subject

Louise Peacock
2 min readDec 10, 2023

--

Every year, the complaining begins in December. Everybody starts to worry about the fact that they have not completed their Christmas shopping.

I like the idea of planning well in advance.

When I was still out in the working world, I would begin searching for gifts whenever I saw a sale. Lunch hours and weekends I would wander around looking for “deals” and usually managed to put aside a nice collection of potential gifts well ahead of the big day.

When I was a kid growing up in Portugal, we never had any money, so I learned to make gifts. My mother was a believer in getting things done well in advance, so like the Mincemeat and the Christmas cake, present-making began months in advance of the actual day.

I made handkerchiefs — with hand-rolled hems and little cross stitch flowers in the corners, knitted scarves, and knitted socks and mitts. I hate to think of the recipients of my childish efforts, but at least I tried. And all these sad offerings were ready in plenty of time to mail them overseas to the assorted relatives.

Home made Christmas gifts. Computer art by Louise Peacock

These days, beyond a few strings of sparkle lights and a few wreathes, we don’t do much, and we sure do not rush around shopping.

Anyway, a few years ago, I wrote a silly Blues song on the subject. See link below.

2012 — Me in the ugly Christmas sweater.Photo by Bruce Walker.

Christmas Shopping Blues

12 bar blues written and sung by Louise Peacock, with Tony Quarrington, Lead guitar and backup vocals, Tony Laviola Bass and backup vocals, and Terry Martel on drums.

https://www.reverbnation.com/fathappyandblue/song/2927999-christmas-shopping-blues

--

--

Louise Peacock
Weeds & Wildflowers

Louise Peacock is a writer, garden designer, Reiki practitioner, singer-songwriter & animal activist. Favorite insult “Eat cake & choke” On Medium since 2016.