Conversation with My Wife (213)

The power of love, from and for

Jack Herlocker
Weeds & Wildflowers
2 min readNov 7, 2021

--

My wonderful wife (photo by author)

ME: Dennett wants me to write about my superpower.

DEB: Okay.

ME: I don’t have one.

DEB: Everybody has a superpower, honey. So for you, it might be taking whatever happens to be in the pantry and fridge and turning it all into a delicious meal with no planning. Or taking wonderful care of your wife — not every husband can do that, y’know. Or being a tech person; just ask me, I rely on you a LOT for that particular superpower.

ME: So my superpowers all revolve around doing things for you?

DEB: (thinks very briefly) Yup. And…?

ME: Just making sure I understand, is all!

You are my kryptonite
my radioactive spider
my doom
my reason to be

my sunrise
sunset
bright noon
dark midnight
my center around which I revolve

my power flows from you
and for you
and with you

without you
there is no power
nor
reason to be any

Copyright ©2021 by Jack Herlocker. All rights reserved, and be careful or you might see some superpowers not mentioned above.

--

--

Jack Herlocker
Weeds & Wildflowers

Husband & retiree. Developer, tech writer, & IT geek. I fill what’s empty, empty what’s full, and scratch where it itches. Occasionally do weird & goofy things.