Do The Next Right Thing

A story of the grasshopper on the hood of my truck.

Pamela J. Nikodem, MSED
Weeds & Wildflowers

--

Early afternoon saw me driving from home to my office, not more than five minutes away. A creature of habit, I usually take the same route, however today, I decided I’d get some Starbucks coffee. The plan sounded solid.

As I sat at a red light, I saw a little green grasshopper, whom I will name Charlie, land on my truck’s hood. He fluttered down without much event and began moving his legs and antennae. I said to no one in my truck, “Charlie, you are going to regret landing there!”

The light turned green. I pulled out slowly and didn’t go above 22 miles per hour. I drove with one eye monitoring Charlie’s efforts to hang on and the traffic around me.

As I approached the second red light, I thought for sure Charlie would jump off and head back to wherever he needed to go. He and his brilliant green needed to be in some grass somewhere, not on a metal truck, in the heat of the day.

Shortly after thinking this, and wondering why the light was taking so long to change, my eyes drifted up to the van in eyesight from Charlie. It read, “Do the next right thing” and I knew, without a shadow of a doubt, my calling.

Not speeding up, I slowly turned into the shopping center’s vast parking lot, somewhat…

--

--

Pamela J. Nikodem, MSED
Weeds & Wildflowers

❤ Positive-focused Motivational Speaker❤ Writer ❤ Domestic Violence Educator @ www.advancedbehavioralchanges.org ❤ Catch the Spark❤ Counselor ❤ Relationships ❤