Maximus, My Little Warrior In The End

Daphsam
Weeds & Wildflowers
4 min readOct 12, 2023

--

A heartbreaking tale of strength and loss.

Maximus looking so happy. Author’s photograph

I want to share a deeply emotional connection I had with one of my dogs. But I want you to know about one of the best dogs I have ever had. His name was Maximus, a black and tan Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. When I got Maximus, I had been a dog owner for many years of family Cavaliers, and I had never had a male dog. He came into my life when our kids were 5 and 10, busy with camp, school, and friends. Even though we had another female Cavalier in the house, Isabella, there was something about Maximus that I connected more with. Our bond was powerful, and the companionship he gave me was unmatched. He followed me everywhere, and he always positioned himself to see me when he lay down.

Maximus was an adorable puppy, he was my cute little model. Author’s photograph
Maximus with his litter brother, Horatio, my Mother’s dog. Author’s photograph
Maximus loved playing with this toys. He was big soft toy dog. Author’s photograph

--

--

Daphsam
Weeds & Wildflowers

Dedicated mother, loving wife, dog mom, watercolor artist, creative writer, full of ideas, with humor and whimsy.