Closeup photo of blue/green dragonfly resting on green leaves, by Tichahana via Pixabay.

Dragonfly

Ré Harris
Weeds & Wildflowers
1 min readJun 7, 2019

--

Silk ribbon wrapped
round a dragonfly’s tail,
beauty calling out
like yours,
but very different
than the picture tells.
Deeper than the dream I had
of you, turning planets like
Superman in a rage.
More real than the year
I saw you at the edge
of everything right with
the world, and smiled
and walked away.
You wrapped yourself in my life
soft as silk,
strong as that and more
as my mind
accepted nothing but
what I saw:
beautiful ridges
crafted in subtle form.
Silken threads sewn
by human hands.
A shiny trinket to enjoy
in moments when
everything was sweet.

I didn’t see
as your dragonfly skin
bled from the pierce of
the needle.
A trinket never would.
Sorry is not enough.
But it is what I am.

Copyright 2019 Ré Harris. All rights reserved.

--

--

Ré Harris
Weeds & Wildflowers

Muser, Writer ~ practicing storytelling like Hendrix did guitar.