Forget-me-nots (Myosotis) brighten up our back garden. Photo by Louise Peacock

Flowers for Dennett

In Memory of Ben

Louise Peacock
3 min readMay 27, 2024

--

Way back when I first joined Medium in 2016, I got to know Dennett and Ben (Captain Argentina).

They both became very special to me, and reading about their activities, interacting with them (mostly with Dennett); getting involved with Dennetts’ publication, Weeds and Wildflowers; getting advice from Dennett on assorted publication issues — all built into a long-distance friendship greatly valued by me.

I got to know their beloved fur-babies, learned about their local wildlife, enjoyed seeing the beautiful plants and flowers in their area. I learned that Ben liked to happily dance around to songs on the radio, while working in the kitchen. When Ben became ill; later had a nasty life-altering fall; then had to undergo dialysis, I was horrified, and read updates from Dennett every week with baited breath.

A few days ago, when I read Dennetts’ email to me about Ben collapsing on the street and dying, I could not believe my eyes.

It takes me a long time to finalize writing projects and this one is no exception.

Weeds and Wildflowers for Ben and Dennett

Lead shot is of some Forget-me-nots. These pretty wildflowers, considered weeds by some, are a tribute to Ben.

The name, Forget-Me-Not, is based on a German legend about a knight who died trying to get the flowers for his true love. He is said to have called out to her with his dying breath, “Forget me not!”

Perennial Geraniums make a colourful addition to gardens, with many new cultivars, but my favorite is a hot pink variety that can be found growing wild in hedgerows and meadows. It is known as Bloody Cranesbill or Geranium sanguinum.

Although not strictly a wildflower, it has managed to naturalize itself all over the place, so for my purposes, it is a wildflower, therefore, for Dennett.

Hot pink Cranesbill (Geranium sanguinium). Photo by Louise Peacock

Another wild child is the Buttercup, (Ranunculus acris). Although it is very pretty, it is also extremely invasive and rather hard to dig up. It gets accused of being a weed. I like it as a soil holder on slopes. This one is for Ben.

The humble Buttercup. Photo by Louise Peacock

The last two are for Dennett and Ben, since they are both considered wildflowers and weeds.

Sweet Violets or Viola odorata is another perennial plant that is both known as a wildflower, and as a weed, depending upon your point of view. It is very invasive in any circumstances.

Sweet Violets (Viola odorata) Photo by Louise Peacock

Another dual personality plant is Herb Robert (Geranium Robertium). It is annual or biennial and is known both as a wildflower and as an invasive weed. It seems to have originated in England. Which probably means early settlers brought it to Canada

Herb Robert (Geranium Robertium). Photo by Louise Peacock.

--

--

Louise Peacock

Louise Peacock is a writer, garden designer, Reiki practitioner, singer-songwriter & animal activist. Favorite insult “Eat cake & choke” On Medium since 2016.