Hobbies with hypertufa

I made these pots with my own hands, already a decade ago

Crafting for fun, with a purpose, and using simple materials.

--

I was watering plants here and there in the old house’s garden. I didn’t even remember about their existence, about my times playing to build them. Hence they surprised me.

I’m talking about pots, simply pots.

All photographs shown in this article were taken by the author, Luciano Abriata.

25% of my life ago, I decided to never again buy pots, as most were made of plastic, and those made of more friendly materials were quite expensive for my budget. Although overall, I failed to reach my resolution, I did grow the habit of looking for substitutes. And sometimes I even make my own pots!

Crafted from Portland cement mixed with sand, soil, and any other materials I would find, these pots hosted some of my beloved plants at the time. Now their original inhabitants are mostly gone, replaced by wilder species.

Over a decade lost around the garden, some of these pots were taken over by ivy-like climbing weeds and bugs of all kinds:

--

--

LucianoSphere (Luciano Abriata, PhD)
Weeds & Wildflowers

https://www.lucianoabriata.com | Scientific writing, technology integrator, programming, biotech, bioinformatics.| Have a job for me? Contact me in ES FR EN IT