I Planted a Peanut 🥜

And It’s Growing

Kat Brancato
Weeds & Wildflowers

--

Peanut Experiment Engaged — Image by Kat Brancato

My fellow gardeners, aka the adorable squirrels I’ve been feeding that adorn my yard daily, have inspired me to try planting peanuts this year. Last summer, in one of our potted plants, a cute little plant popped up beside the tree we were growing. It had beautiful foliage, so I used my plant ID app to figure out what it was.

Come to find out, one of those busy little squirrels decided to plant a peanut and apparently forgot where he had put it.

How cool! I thought.

I began researching peanuts and found out that one plant can produce 30–40 nuts! So, not only can I grow a delicious, nutritious snack for myself, but I can also grow them for my furry friends.

They grow best in light sandy soil, but can grow in most soil types if you use compost to loosen the soil. So, for giggles I simply stuck a peanut (shell and all) in a large planter on our patio. Just to see what would happen.

Here’s the result….

Peanut has beautiful foliage! Image by Kat Brancato

My husband informed me the other day that my squirrels have started their own peanut plants in the small box garden in the yard…

--

--

Kat Brancato
Weeds & Wildflowers

Kat Brancato is a Lifestyle Writer for hire. She has been featured in the Real Simple, Better Homes & Gardens, and Parents. Check out www.katbrancato.com