If I Should Die Before We Meet Again

A mother’s sonnet for her son

Denise Shelton
Weeds & Wildflowers

--

Photo by Nelson Santos Jr on Unsplash

If I should die before we meet again,
And I don’t get to say goodbye to you,
You are, my son, among the best of men,
Continue to take care in all you do.
Before you were conceived I used to walk,
Imagining a spectral child’s small hand,
Held tight in mine as laughter, love, and talk,
Were ours alone in that enchanted land.
So you should know you were my fondest dream,
And no one in my life gave me more joy,
What tears there were I hope they can redeem,
Myself for any harm I did, sweet boy.
If Heaven waits, I’ll long to see your face,
Until we meet again in that bright place.

© 2020, Denise Shelton. All rights reserved.

If you liked this, please visit my website. You can sign up for my monthly newsletter here. Thanks for reading!

--

--