Let’s Go Wild Camping

Because it is the purest form to connect with nature

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers
7 min readJun 14, 2020

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

If you have been wild camping before you’ll know what it is about. The landscape in which you’ve set up your tent. The animals that surrounded you. The sounds. The smells. The whole picture. It’s an experience you will not forget. Wild camping is probably one of the purest forms of connecting with nature. I think.

My childhood memory

I grew up outside the house. Mostly at least. Cycling. Hiking. Skiing. Climbing trees. Playing soccer on the fields. Swimming in the ocean. Playing hide and seek. And more hiking. My parents loved hiking. So did we. As children. There is nothing more inspiring than being in nature. Especially for children.

I have so many memories of the mountains. One of these memories includes a wild camping trip. It was just my dad and me. Three days through the alps. Somewhere in the south of Germany. I was eight years old. I had my own hiking backpack to carry. My dad had to carry the tent and everything we needed for two nights up in the mountains. And sometimes my backpack too. But he is strong. Especially as I child, I believed he could do anything. At least carry everything. Definitely carry two backpacks up a steep slope. So that I could run in front of him. Because once he lifted that bag off my shoulders I…

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.