Photo by Omer Sonido on Unsplash

How smart I art. NOT!

Marvelous Me

Chris Alleyne
Weeds & Wildflowers
1 min readApr 29, 2020

--

I’m sure that I’m the greatest mind
to ever walk this Earth
And while it’s not for me to say,
I’d suggest that virgin birth
Would have been the way to start
my journey from up on high,
To bestow my brilliance on the land
until the day I die.

To purge pestilence from the world,
to bring eternal peace.
And on those days when things are tight,
to provide some sweet release.
To ease the burdens of the poor.
To help to make things better
Please remember to submit,
your requests to me by letter.

Yet still it seems I’m destined
to walk this world alone.
My genius it drags on me
like a heavy stone.
Burdened by my brilliance,
and my huge intellect
I cannot seem to find someone
with whom to intersect.

I thought I had found someone,
but alas, it was not so
She left me shattered on the tile
and as she turned to go.
One last thing she said to me
as she smoothly glided past.
“Even though you’re smart as hell,
you’re really quite an ass!”

Author’s Note: I hope you all got the sarcasm dripping from the words in this one!

--

--