My Extraordinary Reading From A Medium After My Mother’s Passing

It Happened To Me

Lynn L. Alexander
Weeds & Wildflowers
5 min readMay 11, 2023

--

Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

There are many people who are skeptical of mediums and think they are quacks. As a matter of fact, my brother does not believe in mediums, and I have never told him about my reading.

You may have heard of Theresa Caputo of the TV show, The Long Island Medium. Other well-known mediums are James Van Praag and John Edward.

People sometimes confuse psychics and mediums. They are not the same.

Psychics give readings on the past, present or future; but, they do not
communicate with the dead.

A medium communicates with the dead or people on the other side.

A year after my mother passed away, I went to a dinner where a medium gave readings. She did not choose me, but she did talk to my friend, and she was spot on. Half of the people at the function were in tears from the intimate details this medium provided.

Soon after that event, I made an appointment to have a private reading with her.

My reading was remarkable. I couldn’t believe how many personal facts she knew about my family.

We sat down in a room together, and she just started talking and asking questions.

One of the first things she told me was how very sweet my mother was. If you have read any of my previous stories about my mother, you know that I always say the same thing about her.

Photo by Antonia Kühn on Unsplash

She then said that my mother told her I was wearing a piece of her jewelry. She could tell that I was wearing her engagement ring and that it made me feel close to her.

She knew that my mother passed away from something in the chest area, which was true. She had COPD.

Photo by Katie Smith on Unsplash

The medium kept talking about a baby. She asked me if I had a baby. I have loved babies since I was a child and never had any children. However, when I helped teach ESL classes shortly after my mother’s death, I met a woman with a baby.

The class was for mothers, and I became particularly close to one mom, Lourdes, who brought her two-month-old baby to class because she was breastfeeding. I adored babies and was always asking to hold her. It was so comforting for me.

One year the semester ended four months early due to funding problems. I told Lourdes that I was going to miss her baby. She replied, “Don’t worry, Miss Lynn. I will bring her to your home every week.” And that she did. I developed a very close relationship with Lourdes and all of her children. We had and still have a very special relationship.

My mother always knew that I loved babies. The medium told me that my mother said she put Lourdes in my life as a gift to me.

My father also came through to thank me for moving my mother to one floor. We did move from a two-story house to one-story house after my mother broke her hip.

My father communicated a lot of personal facts to me that only he could know.

The medium also brought up dragonflies. After my mother’s passing, I started collecting dragonflies, which symbolize that a deceased loved one is near you.

My parents said for me to not focus on dragonflies so much. I do love them though, and every time I see one, I think of my mother.

An acquaintance gave me a beautiful dragonfly, seen in the photo below:

Photo by Lynn L. Alexander

During the reading, my mother brought up the numbers seven and eleven.
My brother’s birthday is July 11.

The medium knew that my brother lived far away from me and also that his wife was battling stage 4 cancer.

She also knew that I lived with my mother all of my life and that I have many health problems.

The medium did say that my mother and father were together and that they were dancing. She added that my mother couldn’t do that while here on earth. She was right because my mother used a wheelchair.

Photo by Travis Grossen on Unsplash

After my unbelievable session with this very gifted medium, some of my friends thought that perhaps she had googled me.

I found this rather funny because she did not tell me one fact that could be found online. Also, she is so gifted that I know that she would not waste her time googling. She does not have to because she is the real deal.

According to intuitive medium Susan Grau,

Whether or not psychic mediums are real is still a matter of debate. However, there are many people who believe in their abilities, and who find comfort in the idea that they can communicate with loved ones who have passed on.

I received tremendous comfort from my reading. I felt like I had my mother back and was visiting with her. I felt very close to her.

There was one thing that I wanted to hear from my mother that wasn’t spoken in my private reading.

About two years after my reading, my friends and I went to another group reading at a restaurant with this same medium. She read a lot of people in the room and then came to me and said the one thing I was so hoping to hear! I was so happy.

Other stories about my mother on Medium:

--

--

Lynn L. Alexander
Weeds & Wildflowers

Eclectic writer. Ovarian cancer survivor. My interests include humor, health, grief, personal essays and entertainment. Please follow me on my journey.