ASGARALY LOULOUA
Weeds & Wildflowers
3 min readNov 17, 2021

--

My little Forest…

ASGARALY LOULOUA

That’s it, it is Saturday, I feel some joy inside me! I will go finally to my beach house, my cozy nest of greenery

It is sad to say, but the truth is that in my town Mahajanga, there is no forest where we can go to relax to walk and enjoy the greenery, the birdsong. No, any place at all, and sometimes, I feel pain inside me as I love forests. it has never existed inside Mahajanga and if you go by road for example to Antananarivo, which is at 600 km, we can see mostly entire valleys burnt by humans: when I saw that, I feel only rage !!

So since many times, I have decided to plant maximum trees at my bungalow, it is surrounded by trees, I want to have for me a forest which I am missing.

I plant some rare species like the Rosewood tree, Palissandre (i don’t know the word in English), and also Katrafay tree; those are precious and rare. So I tried to put one piece of each at my bungalow and also many other plants!

ASGARALY LOULOUA

It is restful to wake up at the bungalow in the morning and everywhere there is greenery! I feel peace and happiness.

The wind in the bamboo, the chirping of little birds .. this bungalow is just for me my heaven.

In the past, I never see birds coming or singing at my beach house., but now as the trees are growing and becoming like a wild forest, all day, the birds are there, searching for food, and playing !!!it is just a delight for the eyes!

And in the afternoon, at the same hour almost, like a watch, we have the visit of my two friends lemurs: they sit on the veranda edge and look at me, waiting for the biscuits! it is so funny to see them eating biscuits and sometimes when I leave, I left some pieces of those biscuits near them….

ASGARALY LOULOUA

I see also now butterflies going around the bougainvilleas and I sit on the chair selecting myself of all this natural beauty …

When I find any new plant, I try to put it at the bungalow because I know that, there, it will be safe.

Near my house, in the town, I can’t put anything outside, it will be destroyed or snatched; I am not telling jokes but here, people don’t appreciate the value of a tree. Or they put inside the pot of the plant, some dirty bags or sometimes, they just take out it!

Madagascar is facing drought, yes not only because of climate change but also because people destroy forests. And the rain is becoming rare now. Every day, I am seeing the weather channel with the hope to get rain, but alas, no rain at all … and I feel sad and frustrated because I love rain, the music of the water drops, and nature becomes so fresh and green!

ASGARALY LOULOUA

MADAGASCAR

--

--