ASGARALY LOULOUA

My Passion for Holy Basil….

ASGARALY LOULOUA
Weeds & Wildflowers
2 min readMar 7, 2024

--

As I become older, my passion for gardening and plants is growing more and more. Maybe it is my healing method….

Actually, I would like to tell about one herb named “Holy basil”, or Tulsi.

Many people. like Hindus, cultivate Holy Basil as a way to connect with their spirituality and seek blessings. For me, it is just for health :

Holy Basil is renowned for its numerous health benefits. It is believed to have anti-inflammatory, antioxidant, and antimicrobial properties.

It can boost the immune system, reduce stress, and regulate the sugar in the blood, too.

I cannot find it easily in my town, but, by luck, some time ago, in the forest, far from the center of Mahajanga, near the Caves of Anjohibe, a friend of mine brought some Tulsi sprouts for me to put in my garden behind my house.

I was enthusiastic because I had been searching for them so many times! I took them preciously, with care, and immediately planted them. They were so tiny, and I was afraid that they would not survive and grow.

I went on a trip for some months, and it was the raining season in Mahajanga. I was wondering if my little babies of Tulsi would survive or not.

When I returned, I went immediately to visit my little piece of Heaven, my garden, and I was amazed to see that those little plants were becoming so healthy, and the perfume of them were everywhere.

I love to delicately take some early morning leaves in my fingers and put them in my mouth; I always choose the delicate and little ones because they are spicy in the mouth and have more fragrance.

Tulsi is my favorite plant of my garden; I put it everywhere because of its medicinal benefits and also for my bees …..

Louloua ASGARALY

MADAGASCAR

--

--

ASGARALY LOULOUA
Weeds & Wildflowers

Photographer of Madagascar, mostly landscape pictures and fan of nature and gardening https://ko-fi.com/luluasgaraly