PHOTO-A-DAY CHALLENGE

One Week of Sunshine, Clouds and Occasional Rain Showers

Week 206 of the photographic documentary of my daily life

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers
7 min readJul 20, 2024

--

Photo credit: Anne Bonfert

Summer is here and with the season we received hot days, cloudy skies and occasional rain showers to cool us down in between. I’d describe the weather as mostly pleasant as we didn’t have a lot of humid days, I went to the outdoor swimming pool a lot. It helps to keep your body temperature regulated and stay fit at the same time.

On Thursday, we had a big school group at the airfield as they were staying with us for two nights in some sort of a challenge event. Yes, they’d all do a tandem skydive as part of the project but before that, I had about three hours to fill. Keeping 20 teenagers entertained and off their phones for such a long time isn’t that easy but I think I didn’t do too bad.

Showing them first different videos of skydiving as this sport has a lot of disciplines to show for, I got their attention and then could go deeper into the topic by explaining how one learns to skydive and where you can practice.

Around noon, some heavy thunderstorms rolled past our base drenching the ground with water and filling the air with roaring thunder. But it didn’t take long to clear and soon we had the first group ready…

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.