Reflecting on Cultural Differences Between Pakistan and the U.S.A.

Some book club choices are challenging.

Dunelair
Weeds & Wildflowers
1 min readJun 22, 2024

--

Park bench offers a place to reflect. Photo by author.

A member of my book club has an international perspective, and we count on her to make thoughtful recommendations.

Her choice for this month has eight linked short stories about life in the Punjab province of Pakistan, where old ways of land ownership still prevail.

The characters’ stories and their actions are so different from anything I know that I had to think long and hard about them.

I learned a lot from reading these stories and reflecting on how and why the author wrote them and how accurately they might portray life in Pakistan today.

This Pakistani American author has written eight compelling short stories that make readers think.

In Other Rooms, Other Wonders by Daniyal Mueenuddin

I enjoy preparing written comments about books I have read. The process makes me reflect on various aspects of the book and helps me better understand what I read.

Sadly, I seem to be my primary audience for my book notes. Most writers read a lot, and most have their favorite sources of recommendations that don’t include casual reviewers like me.

--

--

Dunelair
Weeds & Wildflowers

: Friend, reader, and photographer with eclectic interests. Loves living on California's central coast. Born and raised in West Virginia.