WRITING PROMPT RESPONSE

Seasons in Life

And in nature

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers
6 min readFeb 10, 2021

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

Seasons. There is so much in my life getting described in seasons. I am a seasonal worker. I take leave in the off-season. I travel across countries to avoid the season of winter. And I experience different seasons on different continents.

So where should I start?

Credit: Anne Bonfert

High and low season

My work. Or the work I used to do. Sandboarding. I used to teach tourists how to board down a sand dune. Similar to snowboarding. But on the sand. In the desert.

A job like every other one in tourism. Season related. We had a high season. In some years I would work three months straight through. Without having a single day off.

And then there would come low season. Where I would work sometimes only two or three days a week. This is usually when I would take off. For a month or so. To go travel abroad.

I got paid per trip. So the income fluctuated tremendously. From one month to another. Saving money in the high season was vital for the low season. To get through the year one had to do some planning.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.