Heart shaped traffic light post at 甜爱路 Tian ai road, photo taken by me.

Shanghai & Spring flowers

LiveRunGrow
Weeds & Wildflowers
6 min readMar 16, 2024

--

A field of tulips with the Shanghai Pearl Tower in the backdrop, photo taken by me near Suzhou creek.

I just came back from a 9-day holiday trip to Shanghai (and Suzhou, Hangzhou — but that’s for a separate story). Apart from the minor inconvenience of discovering that my return flight to Singapore was cancelled, during which the airline provided accommodation for the night before my rescheduled flight the following morning, the holiday had been exceptionally enjoyable and perfect.

If you don’t have medium membership, read the full story here for free: https://medium.com/weeds-wildflowers/shanghai-spring-flowers-860d0c4208bd?sk=55572c9e649f8dc8f78e64a3348863a3

Usually, I plan my holiday trips to be in the later half of the year. This was the first time that I had travelled to China in the month of March, because my sister was due to be in Shanghai for a business trip and I decided to tag along, since accommodations expenses would be covered by her company.

Our sumptuous breakfast, consisting of Wanton noodles, turkey meat, sweet potatoes, corn cakes, hams, soya milk, fruit juice, at the Shanghai Grand Central Hotel. Photo by me.

Although I have been to Shanghai twice before, the first time in 2012 and the second time in 2017, I still felt that it was an opportunity that I couldn’t miss…

--

--

LiveRunGrow
Weeds & Wildflowers

𓆉︎ 𝙳𝚛𝚎𝚊𝚖𝚎𝚛 🪴𝙲𝚛𝚎𝚊𝚝𝚘𝚛 👩‍💻𝚂𝚘𝚏𝚝𝚠𝚊𝚛𝚎 𝚎𝚗𝚐𝚒𝚗𝚎𝚎𝚛 ☻ I write & reflect weekly about software engineering, my life and books. Ŧ๏ɭɭ๏ฬ ๓є!