Greens of Sentosa island
Photo: @Ludazu IG

Singapore island: 50 shades of green and a dash of fuchsia

Luda Zueva
Weeds & Wildflowers

--

Green is the main colour in Singapore. There are forest green, mint green, olive green, pine green, sea green, grass green, asparagus green, sage green, shamrock green, and many others.

However, the best for me is “full of sun green” leaves with the blue sky in the background. This is a kind of wildlife manifestation in the middle of the urban environment. It was on the island many hundred years before now and would likely survive whatever apocalyptic might happen in the future. It just needs some water and the sun (yes, I’m rejecting the possibility of post-nuclear winter)

Leaves. Hort park in Singapore
Photo: @Ludazu IG

There is another thing that fascinates me in the island leaves — greens patterns. I’m continually wondering how these shapes can look so trendy. Is it an easy job for a designer just to come to a garden and simply copy an ingenious print with no copywriting? I would be eager to wear a dress with such print. Then … boom … colour disruption … fuchsia … what an assemble!

Greens and fuchsia leaves, Hort Park, Singapore
Photo: @Ludazu IG

It’s a cliché to note that nature is the best artist. However, being surrounded by it, I’m sadly capable to notice this eternal beauty quite rarely. Currently, I’m working on a good new habit build-up and my hunch for success is my laziness and lack of endurance. I jog in a nearby park watching for interesting photo objects to give me an excuse to take a break for a picture.

Singapore, June 2022

--

--

Luda Zueva
Weeds & Wildflowers

Enthusiastic life explorer who is fascinated by cities and people around me. Share brand marketing anecdotes, and urban tales @ludazu IG