FUTURE POETRY

Stroke of Luck?

A nature poem with the prompt ‘stroke’, part of the never-ending poem. Gaia’s always helping me out.

Desiree Driesenaar
Weeds & Wildflowers
2 min readAug 14, 2020

--

Picture credit Marek Studzinski via Pixabay

My canvas is blank,
pristine white.
A new beginning,
a try, a plight?

What shall I paint today?
My colors shine blue,
a little reflective.
My soul wants true.

But what is truth
if not depending
on my limited view
and impulses trending?

My desire is faulty,
my want is flawed.
My flow is depending
on Gaia’s thought.

Stop it! Just do.
I’ll find my calling
by doing and loving,
and repeatedly falling.

The first stroke
is coarse and pink.
My eyes are vacant,
don’t care what you think.

My heart is in it.
And a stroke of luck?
Gaia’s watching my back
when I’m stuck.

--

--