Taking Full Advantage of a Week of Great Weather-Spring Chores and Gardening Updates

Dan’s Almost Daily Journal-Volume 59-Tag Along With Me on My Sometimes Boring Sometimes Interesting Sometimes Humorous Journey Through Life

Dan Pfeifer
Weeds & Wildflowers

--

Crocuses In Bloom/Author Photos

Welcome back. Spring has sprung! This week we are having above-normal temperatures and supposedly a string of 6 or 7 days without rain. Say what? Pretty much unheard of around here. Especially in the Spring. I am planning to take advantage of the weather this week to try to get ahead of Spring outdoor chores. You know, that long list of tasks you want to do once the weather breaks. This is always a busy time of the year as we transition from Winter to Spring and Summer. What to do first?

Let’s Start With Some Yard Clean Up

Now that the yard has started to dry up, I have been raking and getting the yard in shape for mowing. Speaking of mowing, over the last week or so, I serviced my trim mower and lawn tractor so they’re all set for mowing. Believe me, I’m in no rush to start mowing. Usually, when I start this process, it is still cold as I work on the machines in the garage, It always seems too early when I start; however, once the weather warms up as it will this week the grass awakens and will be ready to mow a few weeks…

--

--

Dan Pfeifer
Weeds & Wildflowers

Stories on gardening, birding, outdoor adventure, retirement advice, and weather. Everything NY Mets! Join today at https://djpfeifer58.medium.com/member