This is me, doing Theda Bara as Cleopatra. Photo by Bruce Walker, re touching by Louise Peacock

The First True Goth

Todays Goths evidently model their look on Theda Bara

Louise Peacock
4 min readApr 22, 2020

--

Recently, my partner, who is a photographer, wanted to try out some new lighting ideas. He needed a subject, and since the studio he normally uses has closed, and therefore models would not be available — I was his only option.

I like to fool around with cosplay, and makeup and that sort of thing, and suggested we do a shoot with a 1920’s feel to it.

While looking up the 1920’s makeup styles, I came across silent film icon, Theda Bara.

Her look fascinated me. Every picture I found featured a wild-eyed, exotic creature with really over-the-top makeup and over the top costumes.

I did some research on her and decided that the would be the look I would aim for in our upcoming shoot.

Here are the results, my tribute to Theda Bara. All photos by Bruce Walker, all re-touching by Louise Peacock

One of the most outstanding things in all the photos I found of Theda Bara was the eyes. Regardless of the makeup — the big, soulful eyes.

I also noticed that all her poses were very theatrical and staged. This was of course, the look of the times. Other film stars had similar publicity shots, but I found that the ones of Theda Bara were really outstanding.

Out of all the photographs I found of Theda Bara, I don’t think I found more than three or four where she was actually smiling or laughing. Usually just a tiny hint of a smile, or none at all.

I tried my best to emulate the makeup, the outfits, the expressions and the poses of this amazing silent screen goddess.

In retouching the photos I tried to use effects that would give them the 1920s old photograph look.

Notes on Theda Bara:

Theda Bara was born in Cincinnati, Ohio in July of 1885 as Theodosia Burr Goodman.

She attended a local high school, and as a teen showed an interest in theatre arts.

She went to the University of Cincinnati from 1903 to 1905.

She then went to New York and had a brief stage career using the stage name “Theodosia de Coppet.

In 1914 she met Frank Powell who cast her as the vamp in the 1915 movie, “ A fool there was”

At the time, the corseted and slender female figure was still a “thing”. However, it turned out that Theodosias’ more ample curves would actually be a great marketing tool for the studio.

The studio did a huge publicity campaign for the movie launch and turned her into an overnight success.

They changed her name to Theda Bara and invented a fake but exotic background for her.

They took advantage of her curves and wild hair, using scanty and shocking (for the time) outfits, heavy makeup and a ton of rococo jewellery.

She was launched as the wicked temptress, the vamp, the man-eater, the home destroyer.

The studio insisted that when she appeared in public, she would be heavily veiled to ensure that her on-screen persona was maintained.

Theda ended up making 40 movies between 1914 and 1926, and became the darling of the working class man and woman. Working-class women began to imitate her makeup and hair and clothing. Men yearned to have a girl just like her. She received a ton of fan mail. On the other hand, she received angry letters from “respectable” married women accusing her of being a home breaker. to this accusation, Theda apparently responded “If I were really that type of woman, I would not have to work.”.

To read more about her and to see some of the photos of the real Theda, check this link on Wikipedia.

--

--

Louise Peacock

Louise Peacock is a writer, garden designer, Reiki practitioner, singer-songwriter & animal activist. Favorite insult “Eat cake & choke” On Medium since 2016.