The Healing Factor of Photography and Nature

And how photography taught me to see beauty in the small things in life

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers
5 min readJun 9, 2020

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

I forgot the healing factor of nature. For a moment. I wasn’t feeling great. I was weak and lazy. I told my grandma I couldn’t motivate myself to do anything. Despite the fact, I had so much to do. Or because of the fact that I have to do so much.

She just said “Go outside, go for a walk, then you will feel better. I always do that when I’m not motivated to do things.“

Right.

The mind

I am usually the one telling others (or myself) how good walks in nature are for the health. Not only for your physical strength but also for your mental health. But right now I was feeling so bad, I didn’t even want to tell myself to go for a walk. I needed someone. That someone that gave me the push I needed.

It had been raining for five days in a row now. I looked outside. The sun was shining. The temperature gauge showed 22 degrees Celsius.

She is probably right. I should just go.

Am I telling myself while I grab my camera. I’m not intending to go far. But I’m intending to go slow. And I want to look for the beauty in the small things out there.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.