The Moment of Breaking Free

Or letting go

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers
6 min readMay 2, 2021

--

Blackbird | Credit: Anne Bonfert

For any species on earth, it is a special moment. The Moment the young ones leave their parents behind and have to fend for themselves. It’s a big step ahead into an independent life.

It’s a moment of freedom. A moment of pride. Strength. And adulthood. But it is also a moment of fear. Fear of the unknown coming ahead. Every child wants to be grown up as quickly as possible. But once that moment is near most pull back and do admit they miss their parents.

I just got to witness one of those special moments in nature. Wildlife has so much to offer. So many unique moments to witness and experience. All we have to do to see them is walk around with open eyes.

Credit: Anne Bonfert

I had opened the door to put on my shoes when I heard the voice. It wasn’t one of the usual lovely melodies sang by one of the birds in the neighborhood. It was a shy, vulnerable, and scared scream of a young bird.

I was first wondering if the bird fell out of a nest since it wasn’t moving even when I stepped closer. But I wouldn’t know from where, since there was no tree nearby it could have fallen out.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.