POETRY | MOTHERHOOD

The Wish

Of growth

Hamna Labeeb
Weeds & Wildflowers
1 min readMay 4, 2020

--

When spring came,
I forgot to see how you blossomed
beyond my tender touch.

When winter came,
I missed that tiny first step
you had taken away from me.

When summer came,
I lost myself in the warmth
of the foot print you left behind.

When it rained, finally,
I got washed away in the pains
of stitches that brought you to me.

When leaves dried and curled,
I watched your wings spread
beyond the cage of your bones.

When fragrances of childhood
became bittersweet memories,
I knew it was time to let go.

Yet, as I grow old
and you grow up,
I wish you never grow out...

© Sana Rose 2020

From my collection ‘Songs of Motherhood’
Written on September 5th, 2016

More from ‘Songs of Motherhood’:

--

--