then

Chris Alleyne
Weeds & Wildflowers
1 min readMay 30, 2020

--

then we look around and see
just what this world has come to be

then I close my doors to lock you out
‘and virus too!’ I scream and shout
then loneliness bites and I start to pine
then sit on my couch to bitch and whine

then Horace knocks at my front door
with a box of foods that I adore
then I peer around and let him in
then hug him once and the games begin

then here we sit with the virus too
forgetting all that we should do
then turn on the music let the good times start
the world looks on and it breaks its heart

then we’re all sailing on the same sea
then I blame you and you blame me
then everything is someone’s fault
then this old world grinds to a halt

This is #4 in my series ‘conjunctions’.
Check out the others here:

if
&
but

--

--