This Flower Reminds Me of You

Every time I see this flower I have to think about my grandma

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers
6 min readJul 23, 2020

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

My grandma always talks about her favorite flower. She loves the tiny blue blossoms. They seem to be rare. Yet so special to her. And since my last visit at my grandma’s place, I seem to see them everywhere. And I think about her all the time. Every time I see one of them. One of these tiny flowers.

The Succory (Cichorium intybus)

The English name of this flower is “succory”. It’s a roadside plant that grows mainly in less vegetated areas. The German name of the flower “Wegwarte” means “waiting on the way”. And that is where I always find her. On my way to work. Next to the road.

It’s an unattractive and unimpressive flower. Very few people know the flower. The succory is a wildflower. It has blue blossoms that remind you of a Cornflower but the color is a bit paler.

If you want to see the blossoms you have to get out of your house early in the morning. They start to bloom with the first rays of sunshine and close the blossoms before 11 am. And that was it. The next day it will be another blossom that will bloom.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Weeds & Wildflowers

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.