PHOTOGRAPHY

Where Birds Fly Free

Dedicated to Dennett

Mia Verita
Weeds & Wildflowers
6 min readNov 2, 2022

--

Louisiana swamp birds nest in the trees. Photo by author.

I dedicate this post to Dennett, who has shown great strength amidst adversity.

I shot the cover photo in Morgan City, Louisiana in one of the small local bayous. Brown pelicans, egrets, herons, and many other birds, frequently nest in waterlogged cypress trees. During the day they can be seen flying over the water hunting for their meals. At night they rest in the treetops.

Peter Pan, Wendy, and Tinker Bell. Photo by author.

My first post published by Dennett on Medium was in January 2021 in the SNAPSHOTS publication. It featured a single bird photo. I won’t duplicate the photo here because I respect SNAPSHOTS rules. The above photo is very similar and conveys the same sweet sentiment.

The prompt for the article was Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue. I enjoyed taking bird photos so much that I found a way to incorporate a bird picture into that theme.

It was an exciting day for me! It was the day I began sharing more of my photographs on Medium Publications. Around the same time, I found the Weeds & Wildflowers publication. To say it was a great fit for me, would be an…

--

--