Brazilian carrot cake

Kat Lopez
Weekend Vibes
Published in
2 min readMar 6, 2016

This recipe caught my attention when I was browsing my Facebook feed. It sounded that easy that I went to the kitchen and started cooking it right away. I couldn’t resist making a few upgrades to the original recipe, of course, but I still recommend to click the link above and watch the video first.

YOU’LL NEED FOR THE CAKE…

  • 3 medium sized carrots
  • 3 eggs
  • ¾ cup vegetable oil (My secret: I use pistachio oil!)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1.5 cup sugar (I put less than one cup because of a chocolate topping!)
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • a pinch of salt

FOR THE ICING…

  • 100g /3.5 oz black chocolate
  • 2 tbsp water (you can replace with milk)
  • 2 tbsp butter

LET’S GET COOKING

Add the carrots, the eggs and the oil in a blender and blend it for at least 5 minutes. In a bowl, mix flour, sugar and baking powder. Pour the carrot-egg-oil puree into the dry ingredients mixture. Place in an 8-inch cake pan and bake for 45 min at 350°F (175°C).

For the icing, melt chocolate with water in a saucepan. Separately, melt butter over low-med heat. Mix butter and chocolate well. When it comes to a boil, wait 1 minute and turn off the heat.

I believe, the one who invented a carrot cake should be awarded. In my opinion, carrot is such a dull vegetable but it’s a truly brilliant idea to make a cake out of it. This cake is moist, sweet and delicious, it’s highly recommended for your next Sunday brunch!

--

--

Kat Lopez
Weekend Vibes

There’s a book in here somewhere, and one day I’ll write it. Vulnarageous traveller, geekette, foodie and coffee junkie