Chocolate pie with apples

Chocolate pie with apples

Kat Lopez
Weekend Vibes
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2016

--

Today, on my way home I was craving for an apple pie. At first, I was going to bake a typical Russian apple pie (my mom used to make it for me over and over again, it’s very simple but yet delicious), then I thought ‘Why not to try something new?’. I searched for some recipes and found around thirty (!) different options. Wow. You can make even a chocolate cake with apples. Sounds fantastic, doesn’t it? It tastes even better :)

Ingredients

  • 3–5 apples
  • 300 g or 2 cups of flour
  • 100 g or 1 cup of cocoa powder
  • 200 g or 1 cup of dark brown sugar (you can put more sugar if you prefer really sweet cakes)
  • 100 ml or 20 tsps of milk (I used coconut milk from a can)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1.5 tsps baking powder
  • 200 g or 2 sticks of unsalted butter (preferably, room temperature)

Step-by-step

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°F/190°C.
  2. Peel and grate 2–3 apples.
  3. Cream butter with sugar, then add eggs one by one and mix after each addition until well combined.
  4. Whisk together flour, baking powder and cocoa powder. Sift them into the foamy egg and butter mixture in three increments, folding it in with a spatula to combine between each addition. Add milk and grated apples.
  5. Peel and core apples, cut into small dice.
  6. Grease a 26cm diameter springform tin, pour your mixture into it, top it with dice apples and bake for an hour.
  7. Garnish with powdered sugar or honey, if desired.

Let this pie completely cool down. Believe me, it will be even better the next morning!

--

--

Kat Lopez
Weekend Vibes

There’s a book in here somewhere, and one day I’ll write it. Vulnarageous traveller, geekette, foodie and coffee junkie