Engineered Wood Sculptures of Jorge Palacios

Kat Lopez
Weekend Vibes
Published in
2 min readAug 7, 2019

I’d like to tell you about the sculptures of Jorge Palacios. His objects are made of small segments so it took some engineering to put them together! In Spain, there’s a history of engineered wood sculpture. Jorge successfully expands the supposed limitations of wood as a material for enduring, monumental outdoor sculpture.

My favorite art object is that life-size version of a traditional Japanese toy that “weebles wobble but they don’t fall down”. Firstly, it took a lot of time and talent to make this piece in its outstanding geometry. Secondly, it offers a physical challenge.

I saw his “link” at Flatiron plaza a year ago. Then he came to Kwambio office and we got acquainted in person. Now I can brag that I know an artist who had his personal exhibition at the Noguchi museum! Hopefully, we’ll see his ceramic sculptures soon!

I’d like to thank Jorge Palacios and Lucia Roldan for the opportunity to enjoy this amazing book. It’s a real pleasure to know you! ¡Gracias!

--

--

Kat Lopez
Weekend Vibes

There’s a book in here somewhere, and one day I’ll write it. Vulnarageous traveller, geekette, foodie and coffee junkie