Portuguese Toffee Almond Tart

Portuguese Toffee Almond Tart

Kat Lopez
Weekend Vibes
Published in
3 min readJul 21, 2016

--

I continue traveling Portugal while not leaving my kitchen in Queens, NY. This time I wanted something sweet and simple. I chose a toffee almond tart because I had all needed ingredients and toffee sounded new and promising. It tastes incredible! I like this tart even more than any apple or carrot pie (if you know what I mean!).

The recipe is pretty simple. Here’s my conversion to American-style cooking:

For the base

  • 1/2 cup of granulated sugar (I used turbinado raw cane sugar)
  • 4 tbsp of olive oil (I had an extra virgin oil but it worked fine)
  • 1 egg
  • a bit less than 1 cup of flour
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • lemon zest

For the topping:

  • Again, I used 1/2 cup of turbinado raw cane sugar
  • 1 cup of almond chips
  • almost one unsalted organic butter stick
  • 6 tbsp of milk (I had almond milk & it worked fine)
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Beat the sugar with olive oil, add the egg, lemon zest, flour & baking powder. Stir well and put into the oven in a cake tin lined with baking paper. It should take around 10 minutes to cook and become golden. Take it out of the oven.
  3. Prepare the almond toffee in a non-stick frying pan. Mix all the ingredients and keep steering until the sugar & butter start caramelize and it begins to look like toffee. At this point, don’t let it burn, take it off the heat.
  4. Pour the toffee over the tart, spreading quickly as it will go hard in a few moments. Let it cool before removing from the tin.
Portuguese Toffee Almond Tart

As you see, my tart is lighter in color than the one on the picture in the book (and the topping was sticky!). I guess, someone forgot to write about a few more steps but I got you covered ;)

  1. Increase oven temperature to 400°F.
  2. Put tart on sheet pan (some bubbling over of almond may occur) and bake for another 15–20 minutes. Tart is ready when deep golden brown color is visible.
  3. Cool on wire rack for 5 minutes, then remove from pan to finish cooling.

It’s well paired with coffee and ice-cream :)

--

--

Kat Lopez
Weekend Vibes

There’s a book in here somewhere, and one day I’ll write it. Vulnarageous traveller, geekette, foodie and coffee junkie