Trill Talk: Brett Quinn

rachelle
WeeklyTrill
Published in
7 min readSep 1, 2020

Exclusive with BrettExclusive on mental health and social media

Here at Trill, we like to keep it true and real, so give us the scoop, Brett. Who are you?

A: Well, I guess to start I’ll kind of explain my boring background for context. My name is Brett Thomas, I am 26 years old, and I am from Fort Worth, Texas. I just moved to Boulder, Colorado recently and absolutely love it here! I look a little different…I have split black and pink hair, and I’m actually covering my neck with tattoos and starting a tattoo sleeve on my arm next week. Oh, and I just graduated law school, but I want absolutely nothing to do with being a lawyer. When I started law school, I was so miserable that I started getting on social media as an escape. I started out live streaming on an app, and gained some followers that route, and went on to various live-streaming apps contracting me to sit there and have no one watch and just talk. Somehow, one day some verified and well-known drag artists started following me, and since then my following has been growing and I guess I am now what you would call an “influencer.” Lol. But, really I am a Queer 26-year-old law school graduate, who moved to Colorado to become a DJ and start running my own LGBT/EDM geared entertainment business. I just happen to love to post all about it on social media. I suppose others like what I have to say or support my stance on living your best life, being proud to be LGBTQ+, supporting drag artists, and traveling to EDM festivals.

How are you celebrating Pride? What was your coming out story?

A: For pride, I am streaming “Chromatica” of course. Haha but no, I am partnering with several LGBTQ+ brands to feature their pride products. I also am working on queer specific content and teaching a masterclass for an LGBTQ+ app that will be coming out soon. I am really just celebrating being myself, streaming gaga, dua, and EDM music, and working on my own LP. I don’t really have a coming out story. Everyone in school called me gay since I can remember, and I just started living my truth at about 15 openly.

What was your biggest achievement and what do you think contributed to your success?

A: My biggest achievement was realizing it is okay to fuck-up, to quit whatever you have “planned” in life, and to pursue something unconventional that makes you happy. If you had asked me at the age of 6 what I wanted to be when I grew up, I would have immediately replied an attorney. It was ingrained into my little mind that “oh, he’s so bright, he’s so talented at school he’s going to be a doctor or a lawyer.” Fuck that shit. It sucks. Just because I am intellectual or you are an intellectual does not mean you have to be a Doctor, Lawyer, Engineer, Accountant, etc. I may have my JD, and I’m about to start my MS in Communications specializing in Social Media Management, but my true passion is DJing.

We love seeing your success on TikTok! How has the growth in followers affected your career?

A: For one, I have definitely gotten more brand deals. I also have been recognized in public on several occasions (which is weird because I don’t have that many follows). But this was from my viral TikTok that is close to 800K views. I think the new hair (Currently split pink and black) has really helped with my branding and recognition. I definitely have a unique look and stand-out. I also am more confident in the content I post and take more risks, which has paid off and done very well as far as views and likes.

We have found that social media can be reflective of unrealistic expectations, how do you maintain authenticity in the space?

A: I maintain authenticity by making sure if I feel like I should say something I say it, no matter how uncomfortable it makes me feel. I’ve learned that staying comfortable on social media keeps you in a bubble, and makes it harder to stay consistent with whatever image you’ve built. So, I push myself and discuss mental health, political and social issues, make jokes, talk about shows I like, etc. Essentially, I post whatever I feel like- I. do not necessarily have consistent content. The content is just me and my life at this point and that is how I maintain authenticity.

What’s the best part of being an “influencer”?

A: Well I do really like getting sent free products (lol), but really, it is being able to model more positive ways to cope with stress and mental health issues for a younger generation. I never had anyone tell me that you could have a law degree and have a neck tattoo and neon-colored hair. I obviously did not need that, but I wish I had someone willing to model going against the grain and still accomplish professional and academic goals. Being an influencer means being transparent and being yourself, and that your life is on social media, so the opportunity for me to use that to be vocal about my mistakes and how I am on a path toward much bigger and better things is something I am proud I can put out there to hopefully be a role model for the younger generation. As far as my generation is concerned, hopefully, I can get some of my peers to join me in saying fuck it to the 9–5 typical job life if they hate it too. I want to show Gen-Z that they can do whatever they want to, and be successful and not fear being seen as unprofessional because of wanting to artistically express themselves.

What’s the most meaningful interaction you’ve had with your followers?

A: It is extremely meaningful to me anytime someone messages me and says “wow I didn’t think anyone else felt that way thank you for saying that.” A lot of the time I am still very self-conscious about what I say, and my friend and mentor Elizabeth (@advancedbitches) have taught me about imperfection practices. So I will post something being completely uncomfortable about it because it feels raw or unpolished, and without fail, every time I do that, I get messages from followers about how that resonated with them and they needed to hear that, etc. My goal is to help them with this as well because I’ve learned to be my biggest fan and not my biggest critic.

What is one thing you wish people understood better about mental health?

A: I wish people understood that depression and anxiety are not things anyone can just “power through” all the time. I mean yes, I HAVE to push myself through my anxiety to be able to make it through certain things in life, but I am not always able to do it. Sometimes you can’t just “cope”, sometimes you have to sit in your anxiety or depression until you are able to break out of the emotion. This is why I am so open about my mental health and how I feel, because the more I am 100% me, the less anxiety and depression I experience. I have learned how to prevent others feelings about me from triggering my anxiety and depression constantly, and just to focus on what I am able to control.

Where can we find out more about Brett? How can we support you and your work?

A: Well I am starting a series on YouTube of my journey trying to make it managing an entertainment production company. I am planning on getting a creator house for artists in August and filming a series about life in the house with multiple artists working together. The bigger part of that journey is me and the other artists attempting to pursue dreams of becoming a DJ, which I am still learning about music production, etc. so check out my YouTube for videos related to that journey: BrettExclusive. My DJ name is Fal$eProf!t and I’ll be uploading my EP to my SoundCloud and Spotify within the next couple of months. So be on the lookout for random songs on my SoundCloud as well.

I always put my day-to-day life on Instagram, and will be releasing updates about my music and career there as well so follow @BrettExclusive and shoot me a message! Honestly just following me, liking what I post, and dropping a comment does so much for influencers and would be extremely appreciated. Since I am an influencer and I get sponsorships to sell things, all I ask is if I promote a product that you would already buy and that you see me posting about it, that you buy it through my link. I always try to do the same for others myself, but just know I would never post about a product I do not like or have not tried myself.

Oh and I’m an old man at 26 on TikTok @BrettExclusive- but my TikTok is poppin’, so come check it out. I just hit 18K and started a few months ago. I just recently made a twitter (also @BrettExclusive) and have started tweeting too- haha gotta stay relevant.

ATLNTS Entertainment is my company and we are looking for LGBTQ+/Ally artists, influencers, DJs, etc. to represent as talent and social media managers. Be on the lookout for me :)

click here for easy access!

Thank you for reading! Connect with us to stay in the loop!

Continue the conversation and our mission to spread Trill awareness on social media by sharing this post! #StayTrill

--

--

rachelle
WeeklyTrill

she/her || croc advocate, mediocre coder, writer of sorts