Real Men Eat Tofu

Video Game Vet
Weight Loss Truths
Published in
2 min readMar 10, 2022

--

Sitting in the back of a pickup truck

In Defense Of A Plant Based Diet

The classic joke on Veganism is:

And for over a decade I have only mentioned it when asked, but recently I had a revelation that changed my mind.

In general, the normal range in males is about 270–1070 ng/dL with an average level of 679 ng/dL. A normal male testosterone level peaks at about age 20, and then it slowly declines. Testosterone levels above or below the normal range are considered by many to be out of balance. Moreover, some researchers suggest that the healthiest men have testosterone levels between 400–600 ng/dL.

- MedicineNet

Yes, I had bought into the Soy-Boy meme*. So when my extensive test results came in and my testosterone came in at around 600 ng/dL I was taken aback. For a man of my age (65), that’s pretty good (Men older than age 65 should have a testosterone level of about 300–450 ng/dL. — ProMDHealth)

Honestly, I don’t talk about what I eat normally. If people make a comment on my weight loss or cycling achievements I may bring it up but the typical negative reactions have dissuaded me from volunteering advice on vegan diets.

--

--

Video Game Vet
Weight Loss Truths

Video Game Industry Veteran, Successful Decades-Long Dieter, Cyclist and Polymath.