A Disciple of the Sea

A haiku comic memoir

Jason McBride
Weirdo Poetry

--

All illustrations and haiku comics by Jason McBride

The ocean has always been a sacred place to me. I have lived within an hour of the Pacific Ocean for all but a small handful of years. When I need answers, I turn to the sea, because it is the place I can most clearly hear the voice of the divine.

Standing on the sand, looking out over the impossibly vast ocean always makes time slow down and sharpens my intuition. I have written more poems about the ocean than anything else.

Below you will find a collection of 36 haiku comics that tell 36 tiny stories about the sea. This collection is part memoir and part imagination.

Mostly, this collection is my prayer book, a devotion to the sacred sea.

--

--

Jason McBride
Weirdo Poetry

Freelance Writer & Illustrator | Poet & Visual Essayist | Amateur Human | he/him https://weirdopoetry.com