Chasing After the Stars

The only way to escape is to build your own rocket ship

J. McBride
Weirdo Poetry
2 min readOct 15, 2020

--

Image by J. McBride
Image by J. McBride

We search the heavens
For answers hiding within
The walls of our hearts

Image by J.McBride

Travel through life like
An octopus astronaut
Indifferent to time

Image by J. McBride

Chasing after stars
In our pachyderm rocket
Exploring bazaars

Poet’s Note

After having being trapped inside for most of the last six months, I came to understand the nobody is coming to my rescue.

It is up to me to lead the escape. First, I needed a destination. You can’t execute a proper escape until you have someplace to escape to. The only sensible destination was the stars.

Second, I needed a getaway car, or in this case, a getaway rocket ship.

Since I lack any engineering or mechanical talents and only have limited financial resources, I relied on my one true strength. I used my imagination. These surreal haiku collage comics are the fruits of my labor — so far. I continue to keep flying until my fuel runs out.

If you’re feeling trapped, you are more than welcome to join me on my fantastical escape.

Find more surreal haiku comics in the Fantastical Escape section.

Join my Weirdo Poetry substack newsletter to get small strange stories and haiku in your inbox. You get new posts 2–3 times a week with the free version.

--

--

J. McBride
Weirdo Poetry

Haiku Poet. Collage Artist. Storyteller. Author of “Pirate Haiku” and “Horror Haiku”. https://weirdopoetry.com/