Time Traveling Guinea Pig

The experiment did not turn out as planned

J. McBride
Weirdo Poetry
2 min readNov 1, 2020

--

All images by J. McBride
Black and white comic strip panel of a guinea pig with text “My Guinea pig came”
Black and white comic strip panel of a guinea pig wearing a space helment with text “Back from the future, now I’m”
Black and white comic strip panel of a guinea pig on a stool with text “Her unpaid intern.”

My Guinea pig came
Back from the future, now I’m
Her unpaid intern

Poet’s Note

If the history of space exploration is any guide, animals will be the first time travelers.

I wonder what will happen if we send the animals too far into the future, and they come back smarter than us? Will the animals treat us like we have treated them? Will they return to our time enlightened or seeking revenge?

Will we have the sense to learn from our time traveling pets, or will we covet their power and seek to destroy them instead? These are the questions that keep me up at night.

Perhaps this one reason I am self-employed and haven’t had a “real” job in over eight years.

Find more surreal haiku comics in the Fantastical Escape section.

Join my Weirdo Poetry substack newsletter to get small strange stories and haiku in your inbox. You get new posts 2–3 times a week with the free version.

--

--

J. McBride
Weirdo Poetry

Haiku Poet. Collage Artist. Storyteller. Author of “Pirate Haiku” and “Horror Haiku”. https://weirdopoetry.com/