Brian Jakowski

On writing

Brian Jakowski
What’s your story?

--

Personal Photo of The Author

Looking back at my oldest memories, I had a writer trying to break out of me. When I reread an old post, he’s still trying to get out.

Back in Middle school, I got excited about writing assignments. When everyone else whined, “How do I write 500 words on Christopher Columbus?” I thought, “Only 500 words, that’s nothing.”

I got lost in stories like Huckleberry Finn or Treasure Island. After Reading Jack London’s Call of the Wild and White Fang, I sat down to start my adventure story about the wilderness.

Those efforts never came to anything. The only short story I finished was The Attack of the Giant Spiders. At best, it was a rip-off of every bad Saturday morning B Movie I’d seen. The hammocks in the photo below always remind me of that story.

Author photo Spider cocoons (Hammock) on an Amazon Passenger boat.

During college, my roommates introduced me to Tolkien. I read and reread all of his works. My enthusiasm for his writing launched me into reading many other writers and types of literature. After college, I remained a voracious reader but rarely found time to write.

I didn’t really start to write until I took up journaling after the death of my son. Those entries…

--

--

Brian Jakowski
What’s your story?

I’m a retired chef, missionary and pastor. I write on what the Lord puts on my heart and a bit on food and travel