Arvindh

How has being vulnerable and articulate made me a writer?

Arvindh
What’s your story?
4 min readJan 27, 2024

--

Photo by hannah grace on Unsplash

Reading was the very basic habit that made me start writing.

Exactly a year ago, I was sitting at home with no job, trying and praying for a job. That’s when I got a lot of time to read good articles online, which helped me a lot to be focused on things and helped me prioritize things.

By continuously reading articles, somehow, I started reading books that really started transforming my life.

That idle time gave me time to reflect on myself, which helped me identify my inner self. Instead of worrying, I started realizing my self-worth, focusing on my strengths, and literally improving myself.

Improving my communication skills was one of the items on my agenda for my self-improvement journey. I wanted to be very articulate and precise in conveying my thoughts and emotions to people around me.

I used to journal my thoughts and emotions when I was at home. This is the place I initially started writing, but to myself, and these writings were within me, and at that time, I never thought I would write on public platforms.

I was so vulnerable and articulate when I started writing my journals.

I realized that I became good and fearless at communication when I started speaking with people as I got a job as an admin in a private company.

Listening is a crucial aspect of communication, and when I stepped into the real world, I realized that people are too focused on conveying their thoughts and ideas but never listen to other people.

That’s where I learned the art of listening, which helped me empathize with people.

Being empathetic did wonders for my life, especially because it made me look into the little nuances of daily life. It made me happy to interact with people daily, helped me form meaningful and authentic relationships with people, and especially the little joys of life made me happy, and I was able to express that very precisely.

Expressing my thoughts articulately was the one thing I was building sub-consciously, which helped me write articles on real-life experiences.

As the days passed, my brother showed me an interview with an Indian writer, whose name is Anangsha Alammyan, who inspired me to start writing.

From her journey, I realized that consistency is the key to honing my writing craft, and that was the point at which I decided, Why can’t we give it a try at writing?

I have to thank my brother, Anand R., for telling me about the medium platform where I started writing. I had no aspirations of becoming a writer, but as I started writing, I loved it, and I wish to do it for this lifetime.

It’s been three months since I started writing on Medium, and I have no clue whether I am good at this, but I want to tell my stories to the world without any hesitation or fear, and I would be happy if they inspired at least one person who would read my article.

I love to write about my real-life experiences, happiness, love, self-improvement, and sometimes fitness too.

Even though I have not achieved anything in life, writing on Medium gave me immense happiness. Even though life is not going my way, writing is the one thing that keeps me alive in the midst of all the chaos in my life.

I think I have a skill that needs to be improved, and I am going to do this consistently, irrespective of what the results are. I feel this writing skill will, one day or another, help me earn a little amount of money that will be so precious when compared to the money I will earn in the future through my day job.

Final thoughts

There are people who are afraid to show their skills, which would affect their earnings from the day job, and are afraid to move towards a change.

I would just say one thing: whatever happens, give it a try. You don't know what will happen in the future; maybe you could be paid for the efforts you have invested in your craft.

Knowing myself, what I want to do, and what I want to be made me want to write. Writing daily helps me discover myself.

Failure hurts, but not trying to do what you love—believe me, that regret will kill you more than the hurt of the failure.

I wanted to write this story for a very long time, but I was procrastinating. I would like to thank Agata Szymula for adding me as a writer to their publication and giving me the opportunity to tell my story.

If you like my article, please follow ARVINDH for more such thought-provoking articles. Please leave your feedback, which could be useful for improving my writing.

--

--

Arvindh
What’s your story?

Exploring the depths of self through the art of writing, I embark on a journey of self-discovery and expression, one word at a time.