J J

A little about me

Writer Thinker and More
What’s your story?
2 min readApr 11, 2024

--

Photo by the Author. Taken in Maastricht, Netherlands.

I was born on a rainy winter evening in 2002 in the Paris of the Middle East: Beirut, Lebanon.

I grew up during a time when technology was slowly creeping to become a part of our daily lives. I started watching TV every day and then came the iPods and iPads around the time I hit 10. Technology was expanding so much, that I can’t help but feel lucky that I witnessed that happen.

I grew up in a Muslim household with two older brothers in Beirut’s suburbs. Although I am no longer religious, I continue to appreciate the values and morals it has instilled in me, such as patience, kindness, hospitality, and tranquility.

Photo by the Author. Taken in Batroun, Lebanon

I grew up in this beautiful country filled with hurdles. I witnessed the 2006 war, was part of the 2019 revolution against corruption, and unfortunately felt the anguish during the Beirut Port Explosion.

My life has been filled with unexpected events; however, that never stopped me from being optimistic about my future.

I pursued my passions unrelentingly. I learned Piano and Guitar, practiced Taekwondo, and participated in multiple Model UN competitions. I eventually graduated high school and continued in my academic journey towards a Mechanical Engineering degree that I received in the Summer of 2023.

Currently, I am living in Munich, Germany, a beautiful city filled with diversity. I’m pursuing my master's in Power Engineering, working in the automotive field, and exploring Europe along the way.

In the last semester of my bachelor's, I took a creative writing class that rocked my essence. I discovered the power that words hold and how they can bring an infinite spectrum of emotions to the reader.

I have always loved discussing my thoughts, especially the ones related to philosophy and psychology. My favorite books are fiction novels that have a taste of romance in them. I have joined Medium to start my journey of becoming a better person and writer.

Thank you for taking the time to meet me!

I would love to meet you, too. So, feel free to introduce yourself in the responses.

If you’d like to follow my writing journey, follow me: Writer Thinker and More

--

--

Writer Thinker and More
What’s your story?

I write for myself :). BE in Mechanical Engineering and MSc in Power Engineering.