Practical Ways To Wake Up at 5 A.M. Every Day

Rise and shine Early Bird

Hazel Wai
Welcome to Write
2 min readMay 30, 2024

--

Photo by David Mao on Unsplash

I thought I was destined to be a night owl forever.

I’m no stranger to reading about the benefits of waking up early or having the same sleeping routine — all of us have probably read this at some point in our lives.

I’m in my final semester of engineering school, so the past few years of my life have been absolute chaos. I have classes some days, work other days, and have free time on especially rare days.

Having a routine seemed impossible.

But for the past 2 months, I’ve successfully transitioned into being an early bird. I go to sleep at 10 p.m. on average 5–6 nights a week. I currently wake up between 5–5:30 a.m. naturally.

I’ve tried to become an early bird many times in my life and this is the first time it has actually worked.

What really worked was surprisingly gentle. Consider this a compassionate guide to waking up early.

  1. Clarify Your Purpose for Waking Up Early
  2. Focus on Sleeping Time
  3. Don’t Try to Change Everything
  4. Choose a Morning Routine
  5. Get an Alarm That Works for You
  6. Sleep Without Your Phone

All these will help boost you into your new morning routine

There are glamorous parts to waking up early. You get to be productive. You get the feeling of accomplishing something before anybody else does. You get hours of solitude in a solitude-deprived, technology-focused world. I love it.

Thanks for Reading.

--

--

Hazel Wai
Welcome to Write

Discipline| Hard work| Success. Join Newsletter for updates. Do you mind some Ko-fi? https://ko-fi.com/murthehelp