The Southern Line

Ané Kameko
Welded Thoughts
Published in
1 min readMar 3, 2020

We took the train, not long ago
Stepped into tin
A place for classes, mostly low
& felt the journey begin again

We took the train, just last week
Walls were plastered
With squares to make you weep
Just a short journey it lasted

We took the train, only to see
White squares with black text
Squares of cutting edge
Cutting them, cutting me

Slicing through morning
Commute, to mourning weak
Through defenseless and meek
To submissive people, thanks to me

Oh, when I took the train
From old village Claremont to the sea
I was offered abortions
Penis enlargements, a new lease
Dr. Martin takes care of
Sick & desperate: the poor
Unwanted enemies

Could not avert my attention
From the fray
The white boxes on that day
The squares that I mention
We will cover up some day

Image Source: http://ourfuturecities.co/2017/12/the-imperative-to-fix-cape-towns-rail-network/

--

--