Schedule Your Time

Patricia Bumpass
Well Body, Mind, & Spirit
3 min readAug 4, 2022

“You can do anything, but not everything.” ~ David Allen

Photo by Estée Janssens on Unsplash

Okay, this is big for me and maybe it is for you as well. I never believed in keeping a schedule. Not when I was in school and not when I worked outside of the home.

I’m not sure whether it was the act of writing out what I was doing throughout the day or just the thought of being so organized that I knew where my day was going to take me.

Since I have been working for myself, I realize how important it is for me to keep a schedule. If I don’t, then I feel as if I have lost control of my day.

I cannot tell you the number of times I have over scheduled my day with more than one activity slotted into the same time bubble. It doesn’t feel good to decide which activity or person I need to juggle.

For those of you who aren’t excited by the thought of keeping a schedule, here are several benefits to consider:

Benefits of Creating a Schedule

1. Establishes a Routine–When you create and stick to a schedule, you are establishing a routine. A routine creates structure and discipline. Routines have a positive impact on your mental and physical health. They reduce the feeling of fatigue. Your schedule tells you what you need to do and when.

2. Your Most Valuable Asset–Having a schedule preserves your time. We all have the same 24 hours in our day. If you squander any of that time, you’ve lost it. Spend a little time ahead of your day to plan, make decisions, and prepare. Your schedule will speak to you when you’re being unproductive. (Guilt people. Guilt.) Creating a schedule will also help you find time to take part in or schedule time with your family and friends doing something besides working.

3. Goals Become Concrete–We all can set goals, but having a plan (schedule) brings them to life. Suddenly, you have something real to work towards. Your schedule allows you to keep the “big picture” in sight–your primary goals remain at the forefront of your mind.

4. A Sense of Accomplishment–I don’t know about you, but when I look back at my schedule, it reaffirms all I have accomplished in that day. To be honest, it makes me want to schedule my next day or week, if possible.

5. Organization–A daily schedule can make you feel more organized. Doesn’t it feel good to have a handle on your day? When you’re organized, you don’t have to work twice. You’ll be less likely to forget important tasks, details, or instructions. You can walk around with a sense of calm and in a relaxed state.

6. Create a Reputation–When people invite you to a meeting or to an event, do they already know you’re going to come late? Do you beg off at the last minute? (I’ve been guilty of this.) Or do you miss important deadlines? While there could be a lot of reasons for this, maybe you need a schedule that will help you manage your time better. A schedule can help you become known as dependable and reliable.

Takeaway

Whether you believe your tasks or job are repetitive or mundane, you can still benefit from a daily schedule. The benefits of creating a schedule are many and varied. You’ll feel more accomplished; calmer; and ready to tackle whatever comes next.

Affirmations

Concentrating on my daily goals can help me meet my long-term ones.

I always stick to deadlines and manage my workflow successfully.

I am continually searching for ways to improve my process

--

--

Patricia Bumpass
Well Body, Mind, & Spirit

Freelance health and wellness writer, author, and card deck creator who believes women are the superheroes of the world. It’s time for women to reconnect with w