10 Healing Ways to Spend 15 Minutes

Doretta Lau
Well to Write
Published in
2 min readJan 30, 2017

--

Yesterday, I sat in my apartment wondering: what can I do during these turbulent times? How can I contribute and take action from where I am in the world that creates results? I settled on donating money to the ACLU and writing to my member of parliament and to the Prime Minister. This is a start, but I can see that this is going to be a long fight, so we need to take care of ourselves in order to continue kicking ass.

If you feel like you don’t have time, I suggest starting small. Commit to fifteen minutes a day.

What can you accomplish in fifteen minutes?

1. Journal: Write down all the thoughts you’re having. The good things, the bad things, and the neutral things. List what you’re grateful for that day. Let go.

2. Go to Bed Fifteen Minutes Earlier: You’ll be surprised how that fifteen extra minutes makes a difference in your sleep quality. Or perhaps you’ll get up earlier and suddenly you’ve created more time in the morning.

3. Meditate: Calming the mind does wonders. If you’ve never meditated before, I recommend the free sessions on Headspace.

4. Go for a Walk: A short stroll can be a mood changer or energy booster. Instead of having caffeine, I often go for a walk in the afternoon.

5. Read a Book: Do this for pleasure. A hot beverage makes this time even more delightful.

6. Oil Pull: Take a spoonful of oil (I prefer cold pressed sunflower because I’m allergic to coconut) and swish it around in your mouth for fifteen to twenty minutes. After you spit out the oil, scrape your tongue, rinse, and brush your teeth. Your mouth will feel so fresh.

7. Stretch: Yoga or simple stretches keep the body loose and the blood circulating.

8. Listen to Music: Put on headphones and sit on the couch or lie down. Don’t multitask. Just listen.

9. Spontaneous Dance Party in the Living Room: This is exactly what it sounds like. Put on some music and bust a move. The sillier you look, the better.

10. Pack a Healthy Lunch: This will save money and give your body the fuel it needs to keep up the fight.

We need to be in top shape if we’re going to last through what’s ahead. No matter what, you can find fifteen minutes in your day to make your life a tiny bit calmer.

--

--

Doretta Lau
Well to Write

Writing and wellness. Short story collection HOW DOES A SINGLE BLADE OF GRASS THANK THE SUN? out now with Nightwood Editions. www.dorettalau.com