I Declare 2017 the Year of Friendship

Doretta Lau
Well to Write
Published in
1 min readJan 16, 2017

--

I think I’ve been struck by really bad jet lag. I’ve gone to bed at 10pm for the last seven nights and to yoga for six straight days, yet I’m exhausted.

Even though I was tempted to not show up here, I decided to come to this space and see how I’d feel. The verdict? I think I’ll go to bed now.

But before I go, I declare 2017 the year of friendship. Like the kind that Obama and Biden have. (I legit cried during the Presidential Medal of Freedom presentation.)

I have seen firsthand how community can get us through tough times. This year I resolve to be a good friend and a good citizen. This is what I can offer the world as I earn my living and try to write a new book.

--

--

Doretta Lau
Well to Write

Writing and wellness. Short story collection HOW DOES A SINGLE BLADE OF GRASS THANK THE SUN? out now with Nightwood Editions. www.dorettalau.com