✨How to Become Permanently Inspired

Amanda Warton Jenkins
Well Woman
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readMar 31, 2021

--

Happy Spring, Well Women! (You are receiving this email because you opted into the Well Woman Newsletter on Medium. Thank you so much for your support!)

I don’t know about you, but I’m often looking around for some magical moment of transcendence to hit me right between the eyes.

I look to books, movies, podcasts, articles like this one, even yoga classes with the idea that they will inspire me. I wait for that flash of insight… but it’s so rare.

Or, if it does come, it’s brief. I get inspired, do some great work, and then I’m back in the desert. I can’t seem to sustain it. It never seems to last. I’m back in the doldrums of life, waiting for my next wave of inspiration. I can’t predict when or if it will come!

Photo by Patrick Schneider on Unsplash

True story: I’m often in “the grind.” I go from having a peak experience full of all the good feelings to stressing out about what’s going wrong, often on the same day.

This is precisely when people look outside of themselves for inspiration. Whether it’s business, sports, or art, you might start to question if you have enough passion to keep going. I think many people get really down when they lose focus or motivation because they think that in order to be successful, they need to have an unstoppable passion, inspiration, or willpower. The absence of it feels like a failure!

The secret? To accept the ebbs and flows of feelings and emotion. To sit and flow with ALL the feelings. To connect to the breath, body, and movement of life. To flow with nature and the seasons.

Want to learn more about inspiration and FLOW? Pick up my new book, Go From Hustle to Flow: Yoga + Mindset Practice to Release Overwhelm, Cultivate Peace + Redefine Success. I’m an independent author and your support would be so appreciated!

Have questions about my process? I’m answering them this week on GoodReads! So click the link and ask away, I can’t wait to engage with you.

xo,

Amanda

--

--

Amanda Warton Jenkins
Well Woman

Yoga teacher, MPP UChicago "rewilding," living from the neck down, cultivating Albert Einstein's "sacred gift," intuition. My book: https://amzn.to/3mTwXlZ